Election Day Voting

Voting dates, locations and hours
Find election dates, where you vote, what times polls are open and why polling places sometimes change.

Voting Hours
State and federal elections
7 a.m.* - 8 p.m.
*Towns with less that 500 registered voters are not required to open until 10 a.m. but most choose to open at 7 a.m.

City, town and school elections
7 a.m.* - 8 p.m.
*Polling places located in the metropolitan area do not have to open until 10 a.m. Those outside the metropolitan area do not have to open until 5 p.m. However, most choose to open at 7 a.m.

The metropolitan area is defined as the counties of Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, Washington, and Wright.

Why did my polling place change?
The most common reason a polling place moves is that the building is no longer available or suitable for use.

You may also vote somewhere new after redistricting, when precinct boundaries are re-drawn.

When a polling place moves, your local election office will send a notice to affected households with at least one registered voter.

Who chooses polling places?
Cities and towns usually choose polling place locations.

The Office of the Secretary of State does not have a role in choosing or changing specific polling places.

A school district board can choose to centralize polling places across the district into one or several locations. This is only true during standalone school district elections (meaning it doesn't coincide with any other state or local elections).

If you are voting in a school district election, be sure to double-check your polling place.

Contact Us

  1. Elections Coordinator
    Christine Kempernich

    Auditor/Treasurer Office


    415 Jefferson Street South
    Wadena, MN 56482

    Phone: 218-631-7792
    Fax: 218-631-7652


    Monday - Friday
    8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
    Closed Holidays and Weekends

    Staff Directory